Change category of your driving License

Buy drivers license without test

Change category of your driving licence without Test | Update your driving licence

Change category of your driving licence without sitting for exams Different licences allow you to drive different vehicles, however, some licences overlap allowing you to drive more than one type of vehicle. Some have higher minimum ages attached to them and others you can have as young as 16-years-old. Getting A UK Driving License

Knowing which is right for you can be really confusing so we spoke to the DVLA who explained the different driving licence categories are primarily dependent on the overall weight of the vehicle.

Buy UK driving licence  David Jenkins, media relations officer for the DVLA, told us: “The Road Traffic Act 1988 requires all drivers whether private or professional to hold a driving licence. Register UK Driving Licence With DVLA

“In order to drive legally on GB roads the driving licence must be valid and appropriate for the class or category of vehicle the individual wishes to drive. Those holding valid licences issued outside Great Britain may be permitted to drive here depending on the circumstances. How to get Driving License In 2021

“You can find out more about the circumstances on the GOV.UK website.”

Whether you’re a learner driver or have multiple cars and a load of driving experience under your belt, it’s important to know what your licence entitles you to drive.

To help you feel confident in your licence knowledge, check out all the information we found out from the DVLA about different driving licence categories. Order EU Driving Licence

All weights given include maximum authorised mass which is the weight of the vehicle or trailer including the maximum load it can safely carry when travelling on the road.

What do the categories on your driving licence mean?

Catergory Type Additional driving test Restrictions
A Motorbikes Yes N/A
AM 2 or 3 wheeled motors Yes Max speed 15.5-28mph
B Cars No Max 8 passenger seats
B auto Automatic cars No N/A
B+E Cat B + trailer No Up to 3,500kg
B1 Light vehicles No Up to 550kg with goods
C Large lorries Yes Max trailer 750kg
C+E Cat C + trailer Yes N/A
C1 Lorries Yes Up to 7,500kg + 750kg trailer
C1+E Cat C1 + trailer Yes Max combined weight 12,000kg
D Bus Yes Trailer up to 750kg
D+E Cat D + trailer Yes N/A
D1 Minibus Yes Length max 8m, trailer max 750kg
D1+E Cat D1 + trailer Yes N/A
F Tractor No N/A
G Road roller Yes N/A
H Tracked vehicles Yes N/A
K Pedestrian vehicles No Self-propelled
Q 2 wheeled motors No Max speed 15.5mph

Standard UK driving licence categories

Category AM This classification means you can drive two- or three-wheeled motors with a maximum design speed between 15.5mph and 28mph. But, you’ll need to pass a compulsory basic training test (CBT) as well. Buy Real Drivers License This classification also includes quad bikes that have a maximum design speed of between 15.5mph and 28mph, weighing no more than 350kg (doesn’t include batteries on electric vehicles). Category B To drive any car, Category B is the classification you’ll need; you can drive vehicles up to 3,500kg Maximum Authorised Mass, with up to eight passenger seats. Apply for a National Insurance number If you’re over 21, Category B also means you can drive motor tricycles that have a power output higher than 15kW; you also get provisional entitlement to ride category motor tricycles that meet Cat A1 or A requirements (and if you’re physically disabled). Category F If your licence has category F on it – all standard ones do – you can drive an agricultural tractor. That’s right, you can hop behind the wheel of a tractor with no restrictions! Category K TThis driving licence category means you can get behind the wheel of a pedestrian-controlled vehicle; in other words, any self-propelled device you walk behind to control. For example, a mowing machine. Apply For A Full UK Driving LicenceCategory Q With category Q, you can drive a two-wheeled vehicle with an engine size of no more than 50cc,and have a maximum design speed of no more than 15.5mph.

Driving licence categories you might have

Category B1 If you spot the driving licence category B1, you can drive motor vehicles with four wheels up to 400kg unladen or 550kg if they are designed for carrying goods – this is more common on older driving licences. DVLA Application For Driving LicenceCategory B+E If you passed your test before January 1, 1997, you’ll be able to drive a vehicle with a trailer over the usual combined limit of 3,500kg- up to 8,250kg. If you passed your test after this date, you’ll have to take an additional test to tow weights over 3,500kg. Category B auto Used instead of a Category B licence, this means you are limited to driving automatic cars only and are not allowed to drive a manual car. Getting A Spanish Driving LicenceCategory P This is an old category that still lingers on some people’s licences. It refers to two-wheeled vehicles with a maximum design speed of no more than 31mph and an engine size lower than 50cc. On recent licences, this category is merged with Category AM. Provisional driving licence

Need more information?

More information on different licence categories can be found on the DVLA website.

Hopefully your UK driving licence education is complete, but if you have a licence which was issued outside the UK, check out our guide to Buy UK driving license

Changes to the driving licence and categories – GOV.UK

Adding higher categories to your driving licence

UK Driving Licence | How to update, replace or renew your

Contact Info

104 Green Ln, Morden SM4 6FE, United Kingdom

+44 7451 205297

Leave a Comment